There are four user types within Bright Analytics:

  • View

  • Explore

  • Edit

  • Admin

View users

A view user is a consumer of the content in the dashboards. By default a view user will be able to:

  • Export reports.

  • Take dashboard screenshots.

  • Set dashboard/ folder as 'Home'. That is, the dashboard/ folder the user will land on upon logging in.

  • Access content that has been shared with them.

  • View time-slices.

Explore users

An explore user has all of the access mentioned above that a view user has with the addition of:

  • Override the date range for dashboards and reports.

  • Temporarily change the filters on dashboards and reports.

  • Temporarily change the visualisation of reports.

Regular users

A regular user has all of the access mentioned above that an explore user has with the addition of:

  • Create content: folders, dashboards, aliases, reports, time-slices, and commentary.

  • Edit content: renaming, deleting, editing.

  • Copy/ paste existing content.

  • Share content.

  • Access to the 'Feature Access' page.

  • Permanently change the filters on dashboards and reports.

  • Permanently change the visualisation of reports.

Admin users

An admin user has access to everything within the app by default. In addition to the above access, an admin user can:

  • Undo actions. For example, an admin can revert the deletion of a report.

  • Allow commentary within time-slices to users.

__________________________________________________________________

Content access overrides


It is possible to override the level of access a user has for specific pieces of content, for example, a folder or dashboard. That is a 'Regular' user can be provided with 'View-only' access to a dashboard or folder and would be held to the same rules outlined above under 'View users'.

Accesses can be limited down, but they cannot be extended upwards. That is, if we have an 'Explore' user, they can only ever act as an 'Explore' or 'View-only' user. Likewise a 'Regular' user, can act as a 'Regular', 'Explore', or 'View-only' user. Converse to this, a user cannot act above their set level. For example, a 'Regular' user cannot act as an 'Admin'.

Did this answer your question?